Prometheus Journal

Zeus, the most powerful of the Greek gods, was enraged when Prometheus revealed to mankind the secret of making fire. The punishment of Prometheus the titan was to be chained to a rock where an eagle would devour his liver by day. By night, his liver would regenerate in preparation for the following day’s pecking.

Nor does Prometheus the journal expect much thanks for spreading knowledge about
innovation. Since its launch in 1983, Prometheus has pushed against the boundaries
surrounding the understanding of innovation, in its broadest sense. It has met some resistance. Prometheus is no stranger to controversy, nor to the consequences of defying convention.

Prometheus Editors

General Editor

Stuart Macdonald   – Leicester University, UK

Editors

Peter Drahos – Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, Australian National University, Australia 

peter.drahos@anu.edu.au

Areas of expertise: patents, intellectual property, trade, regulatory and governance theory.

Hans-Jürgen Engelbrecht – Department of Economics and Finance, Massey University, New Zealand 

H.Engelbrecht@massey.ac.nz

Areas of expertise: information/knowledge-based economy/policy/society, economic growth and knowledge spillovers, the role of human capital, happiness economics, behavioural economics related to the information/knowledge-based economy 

Richard Hawkins – Science, Technology and Society Program, University of Calgary, Canada 

rhawkins@ucalgary.ca

Areas of expertise: research policy, innovation theory and policy, university-industry collaboration, intellectual property, standards, technical regulation, electronic media industries 

Steven Henderson – Southampton Solent University, UK 

steven.henderson@solent.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: strategic management, organisational learning, critical thinking

Richard Joseph – 130 Orange Valley Road,  Kalamunda, WA, Australia 

rajoseph4342@hotmail.com

Areas of expertise: science and technology policy, Australian government policy, academic freedom and managerialism

Karmo Kroos – Department of Economics, Estonian Business School, Estonia 

karmo.kroos@ebs.ee

Areas of expertise: theories of social change, elites as agents of social change, the role of the university, higher education policy, sociology of knowledge, Central and Eastern Europe 

Robin Mansell – Department of Media and Communications, London School of Economics and Political Science, UK 

r.e.mansell@lse.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: internet governance, telecommunications policy and regulation, social impact of new media, political economy of media and communication, development and ICTs

Martin Meyer –  Kent Business School, University of Kent, Canterbury, UK  

m.s.meyer@kent.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: science and technology indicators, university-industry technology transfer, third mission, triple helix, intellectual property management, science-based innovation, new technologies (especially nanotechnology), technological systems, sectoral systems of innovation, programme evaluation 

Joanne Roberts – Winchester School of Art, University of Southampton, Winchester, UK

J.Roberts@soton.ac.uk

Areas of expertise: knowledge economy, knowledge creation and transfer communities of practice, business services, internationalisation of services, information and communication technologies innovation systems 

Kevin Scally – Cork University School of Business (CUBS), University College Cork, Ireland 

k.scally@ucc.ie 

Areas of expertise: invention and design; USPTO patents and innovation; IP and nonprofits; software usability; creativity, iconoclasm and play 

Peter Senker – University of Sussex, Brighton, UK 

peter.senker@ntlworld.com 

Areas of expertise: technology, inequality, wealth and poverty; technology and the environment, capitalism and neoliberalism 

Uta Wehn – IHE Delft Institute for Water Education in partnership with UNESCO, Delft, The Netherlands

u.wehn@unesco-ihe.org

Areas of expertise: knowledge, ICTs and innovation for development; inter-organisational data and knowledge sharing; knowledge management; capacity development; innovation systems; water innovation studies; citizen science